top of page

Development report - May 2024


I just realized that Wix has the option to insert a blog to the website, so I'll use it for updates, and post about what I've been doing during the past month.


The game got stuck for a considerable amount of time, and I'm back at it. Well, right now I'm working on getting this thing completed asap. During the past month I was able to release a couple of patches with some cool changes. So here it is what I've been doing:


  • For the first time in years, we got illuminated windows


One day while I was browsing through the Rom hacks Reddit, I found screenshots from a guy who made some really cool changes to the night time graphics from a Pokémon Crystal romhack. It made me feel kinda ashamed that a game which is technically inferior to any GBA game has a feature mine has been missing, so here it is:



  • Now during the continue screen we got a fancy text reminding you what version you're playing, and also the sprites of your current team (Credits to BluRose for the code).


Not much to say about it. I like how it looks, even though it's not a big change, but I'm sure people is loving these little details:



  • Modified trainer card which now supports duisplaying 16 badges (Thanks to BluRose again).


This one was kind of difficult to insert. I had to manage to modify the trainer card to fit into the very limited space alloted for the trainer card graphics. I'm not satisfied with the final result at all, but it looks pretty decent imo.



⚠️⚠️⚠️Exclusive Sneak Peak of the develpment of Kanto⚠️⚠️⚠️


Don't think I forgot that Kanto would have multiple stories happening at the same time, and the region is going to be free to be explored. As part of these changes I'm modifying the Kanto maps, in order to make them bigger and more explorable. The original maps from Kanto are very tiny due to the limitations of the original console (Take Route 7 for example. It is just a square with some bushes, adn that's it), so I'm reworking them to be more explorable friendly.


THis is part of Route 6 (Still in process)


... And this is part of Route 11 (Early in develpment).



As you can see. These routes are getting more places to explore, so this will take advantage of the concept of being free to explore Kanto and complete all stories in no predefined order.


...


And that's it for this month. I'm still looking for someone who can help me with completing the maps, so anyone willing to help and with knowledge about mapping in 3rd Gen games can contact me by Reddit: https://www.reddit.com/user/TheMetalOverlord/


I'll keep doing my best to finish the game as soon as I can. Hopefully I can find help and get the game finished by the end of the year.


See you next month c:

144 visualizaciones1 comentario

1 Comment


player1
Jun 17

Hey, I'm facing this issue in latest version after I entered golden rod communication tower after obtaining mask in national park



Like
bottom of page